Beer and Cider for Frederick

I wish I had time to go to the beer dinner at Mick’s in Frederick tomorrow night. Chef James Strine has teamed up with Bob Malone of Flying Dog Brewery for the meal. The menu he sent me includes some interesting pairings like gunpowder bison “carpaccio” with pickled horseradish and yukon gold potatoes paired with “Raging Bitch” beer, and an heirloom tomato salad with “Woody Creek” beer. Call the restaurant at (301)662-0373 for more info.

I’m going to try to make the grand opening of the Distillery Lane Ciderworks at 5533 Gapland Road in Jefferson, MD on Saturday, September 5. I love the idea that there will be local cider–both fresh pasteurized and (ooh la la!) hard cider–from apples grown so close to home. More info at http://www.ciderapples.com.


About this entry