A Surfeit of Bunnies

I love rabbit. I don’t know why more people don’t eat rabbit. It’s lean but flavorful, it’s easy to cook, and the only issue I have with it is that it’s a lot bonier than something like chicken.

I bought two freshly-killed bunnies from a friend recently. I cut off all the front and back legs and turned them into bunny confit: I cured the meat with salt, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and pepper, and then I covered them in a mix of chicken fat and olive oil with a bunch of the tarragon from my fledgling herb garden. They poached for hours at 200 degrees until the meat was completely tender. The rabbit confit will be thrown in salads, rolled into strudels, and (most likely) filched from its home in the fridge until it’s all gone.

The saddles were turned into the D’Artagnan Glorious Game Cookbook recipe for “floppy-eared chicken.” The saddles are rubbed with seasonings and mustard, pan-seared, then braised, and finally finished with cream and more tarragon from the garden. It’s unbelievably terrific.

I still have a whole bunny from North Carolina in the freezer that I need to use up. What should I do with it? Are you eating any rabbit this fall? What about other game animals? Tis the season…

About this entry