Pride and Ignorance

I visited Patowmack Farm today to do some work on a story I’m writing. I always enjoy touring farms that produce food, and this one was no exception.

After reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver, I know how to recognize an asparagus plant after its shoots are too advanced to be edible. So I was proud to be able to identify the asparagus plants when the chef took me around to see the grounds. Asparagus fronds are lovely, airy and willowy, with thick stalks that look like a cross between bamboo and asparagus shoots.

Pride cometh before the fall for a reason, though. I then failed to identify a purple type of fennel and a shiso plant (I’d only seen individual leaves before, and those were more purply than these). I identified thyme correctly, but did not realize that it was lemon thyme. I thought the savory was rosemary until I tasted it and got a hit of pepper on my tongue–shame on me!

I guess I should spend more time on farms and in gardens. Sheesh.

About this entry