Foie Gras for All!

Chicago repealed its two-year-old ban on foie gras today. The ban was instituted as a protest against the force-feeding of ducks and geese required to make their livers fat enough to be considered foie gras.

This is great news. I think the way foie gras ducks are raised is far more humane than most factory farming methods. (Go read Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma or the old-school John Robbins Diet for a New America if you don’t believe me.) If we’re gonna pick a food to get worked up about from an animal rights standpoint, let’s look at cheap mass-produced chickens or industrial veal, not the tiny and humane American duck foie gras industry.

I have a small tin of foie gras from France sitting in my pantry that we might crack into to celebrate this historic ruling. My husband loves this stuff so much, he ate it at dinner almost every night we were in Paris. I’d hate to think of being unable to enjoy it somewhere because of political posturing on the part of a few activists.

About this entry