A Catering Menu

Periodically, I’m going to post catering menus here–not every one of them or anything, just ones I’m having a particularly good time working with.

This one is for a birthday party for the wife of a food person and 12 of the couple’s closest friends…

Cocktail hour:

  • Tamarind-glazed shrimp
  • Tortilla Espanola (Spanish potato-egg cake)
  • Chicken empanadas with mango salsa

Dinner Buffet:

  • Stuffed flank steak with spinach and shiitake mushrooms, red wine demi-glace sauce
  • Herbed crepes with crab filling in a mornay sauce
  • Southern-style grits with farmhouse cheddar cheese
  • Mushroom risotto cakes
  • Spring greens with Firefly Farms goat cheese, dried cranberries and 8-year balsamic vinaigrette

This one was fun partly because I haven’t made mango salsa since I was an extern at Ortanique-DC (which is a story that deserves its own special post…hmmm). A lot of the things on this menu remind me of c-school, like the mornay sauce and especially the red wine demi–those are classic sauces that I never get tired of that I learned how to perfect as a student. And then there’s some fun ingredients, like the aged balsamic vinegar and the tamarind paste for the shrimp glaze.

About this entry